Run or Dye

Yesterday I participated in the Run or Dye Reno 5k.  The race was held at UNR and wove in and around some of the most picturesque parts of campus.  I was afraid at first that me and my friends were going to freeze, and it was definitely a chilly morning.  Fortunately I was able to find a white hoodie that I figured would be perfect for the race.

Image

We started off nice and sparkly clean and fresh, but they were handing out dye packets before the race even started so it wasn’t too long before our shirts weren’t quite as white anymore.

Image

As we waited at the starting line it was hard not to get caught up in the energy and excitement of all of the other racers around us.  And soon enough, it was time for our wave to start off.

The first color we hit on the course was yellow, and I decided the best course of action would be to hold my breath and run as fast as I could.  That proved to be a very smart move as I witnessed other racers around me getting some dye in the mouth and lungs.

The race continued on from there and for a while the sun actually started to peek out from the clouds long enough for me and my friends to warm up just a bit and really get to enjoy the day.

Image

Next up we hit the green station, and I got pretty excited as green is my favorite color.  So I decided to walk through this one and soak up as much green as possible.  This proved to be a bit of a mistake as one rather large clump of green dye managed to make its way down the neck of my shirt and into my bra.  But I shook it off and we kept on going.

Image

We passed pink and purple next and I started to really like the way my clothes were turning out.  Then the final color station was blue and my friend Sandy really got nailed.

Image

And here we are at the finish in all our glory.  It was a really fun race, and definitely one that is family friendly if you’re looking for something fun you can do with your kids.  I’m hoping there’ll be another one soon!

Image

Do you know of any similar races I should try?  Post a comment please!  🙂

Leave a Reply

