Weakened Warriors: Installment 5

We had our second game of the season tonight, and it was a pretty good one.  The weather on the other hand, was not quite so nice.   All day we had been experiencing the kind of weather you might more commonly find in my favorite place, Scotland.

 

It had been raining off and on all day, which I was loving because we almost never get rain and clouds in Reno.  Don’t get me wrong, the sunny weather is nice to have most of the time, but I am a big fan of snuggling on the couch with a great movie on rainy days, and falling asleep to the sound of rain is heaven.  We also never get any real thunderstorms here, and I really miss that.

So when we do get the occasional cloudy day, I get pretty excited.  Tonight however, it was a bit of a different story.  As I got in my car and headed to the field, the thermometer in my car went off to alert me that it had dropped below 40 degrees.  It was also raining lightly but steadily, so I knew we were in for a cold miserable night.

The umpire even joked with us about being more than happy to call it a rain out, but both teams were excited to play.  And miraculously, the rain even let up.  We thought we might actually catch a break and just have a chilly game, but not a completely miserable one.

April 2014 148

 

Pretty early on tonight, we realized we were going to have a pretty good run for our money.  We were the home team, so it was nice to get to bat last, but by the end of the second inning, we were down 4-0 and things were not looking so good.  We were making a lot of mistakes, and definitely not playing like the same team we were last week.

That’s when it started raining in earnest.  But it was also when we started to make our comeback.  In inning 3 we even managed to pull ahead 6-4.  And after inning 4, we were up 9-6.  But then we had another injury.   The shortstop threw a rocket to first, and the first took it in the face.  She was ok, no permanent damage, but she did have to sit out the rest of the game due to a pretty nasty bloody nose.

This was exciting for me, because we moved the Second base player to first, and I got to play second.  I had been sitting out in the field as the rover, and had seen zero action.  Although it was a little scary to be somewhere as fast paced as second, at least I got to feel like I was actually contributing to the team.April 2014 143

I had another full game of strike outs, and my self-esteem was pretty low.  So I really appreciated having the opportunity to make some plays and at least feel like I was useful.  It’s especially sad because I literally practiced until my hands bled, and still couldn’t manage a single hit.  I didn’t even make contact.

In the end we couldn’t quite hold off the other team and ended up with our first loss of the season, but at least it was close (we only lost by 3), and the other team was pretty cool too.  And it’s hard to be too disappointed with your performance when your whole team are frozen popsicles just trying to survive the weather.

Looking forward to next game, and hopefully the end of my sad, sad no hit streak.  Please wish me luck, I’m gonna need it!

Leave a Reply

