Weakened Warriors: Installment 4

So this week marked our first game of the season, and also our first victory!

It was a late game, and didn’t start until 8:50, so I was pretty surprised at how crowded the fields were at Golden Eagle Regional Park in Sparks when I arrived at about 8 pm.  I’d grown used to seeing the place pretty empty during our practice sessions.  I guess maybe we were the only ones that felt the need to practice?

It definitely felt more like the real deal last night with all of the other games going on and all of the families and friends there to spectate.  I even started to get a little bit excited about the game, even despite my recent struggles with hitting.

There was a little bit of light rain going on, nothing close to rain-out conditions, but enough that I was really glad to have worn my hat.  The nice thing about getting there early was that we got to scope out some of our future competition who were playing the 7:40 game that night.

Coach Doug had to decide which league to sign us up for before he ever actually got to see us practice, so we were all a little nervous to see if we were going to be even close to the same skill level as our competition.

Judging by what we saw, it looked like he made a pretty decent guess and that we would probably not be too terrible or too good compared to the other teams we’d be playing against.  And our game last night helped to further that belief.

We got off to a really good start quickly going up 11 -2 by about the 3rd inning, but then we started to have some issues start to crop up.  Because we are playing in a co-ed league, the batting line up always has to be guy/girl/guy/girl, and we were a girl short to begin with.

Then one of our best girl hitters, got sidelined with an injury, so after one round of batting where she still managed to hobble her way to first in time (to be replaced by a pinch runner), she had to actually drop out of the game completely.

Then of course, we had the team handicap (aka ME), who managed to strike out every single time at bat.  Granted, it only takes two strikes to strike out in this league, but even so, it was pretty demoralizing for me.  I really didn’t get any chance to do much of anything to actually help my team, and by the end of the night I was feeling pretty worthless.

If it weren’t for the fact that we were already in desperate need for more girls on the team, I would probably have called it a day on my softball career.   But instead, I will just be trying to figure out what went wrong, and why I went from hitting everything that got thrown at me a few weeks ago, to not being able to hit the ball to save my life, and hope that I will be able to redeem myself by the end of the season.

The game got a little close for comfort towards the end as the other team managed to close the gap to 15-11 by the final inning, but we managed to hold them off and achieve our first victory.  I have to say, the team really seemed to be coming together tonight, and despite my own abysmal performance, I was still a lot of fun to be a part of it.

So please post a comment with some batting tips, or even just to wish me luck for next week.  I would really appreciate all the help I can get!  🙂

Leave a Reply

