Foot -pampering Friday!!

I decided to top off my inadvertent running running hiatus this week with a treat for my feet.  I have been a big fan of pedicures for several years.  For some reason, nothing makes me feel quite as girly and pretty as a fresh pedicure.

Image

I am pretty savvy when it comes to doing my finger nails, I even have my own kit for doing Gelish manicures, but when it comes to my toes, I tend to leave those to the professionals.  This is for several reasons:

  •          As a runner, I am always in dire need of a good foot and calf massage (very difficult to do for yourself).
  •          The shaping, filing, buffing, cuticle prep is very tedius and I am LAZY!!!
  •          It is much trickier to do a good polish job, even if you are fairly flexible, the physics are not on your side.
  •          If I do my toes at home, I always seem to forget the wet polish and manage to screw them up before they manage to dry.

Now pedicure quality can vary wildly from place to place, or even just between different nail artists within a single spa.  Depending on how much you’re looking to spend, I’ve found a few pretty reliable places here in Reno.  My personal favorite is a place called Soak.  Soak has a few locations in the Reno/Sparks area, but the only one I’ve been to is the South Creek location.

Although it is a little on the spendy side, at Soak along with a truly luxurious pedicure, they also offer amazing cocktails.  (Try the signature Pink Drink!!!)  Talk about a perfect way to relax after a long week!  This week the seasonal pedicure was “Singing under the rainbow” and it was Ahhhhmazing!!!

Image

The only downside to getting a pedicure when it comes to running is that I always seem to get them on days that I shortly thereafter want to run.  Then I’m always worried that I’ll ruin the polish, so I end up with yet another excuse to miss a run.  But I figure it’s worth it.  Especially after a week like this one.

What’s your favorite way to relax or pamper yourself?  Post a comment below!  🙂

Leave a Reply

