My Cool new toy

I recently decided to purchase a Go-Pro camera, and yesterday was the day I actually picked it up.  I’m not gonna lie, it’s pretty darn cool.  What’s even cooler is that I used my Member Dividend and 20% off coupon at REI when I bought it, so I ended up saving almost $60.

Have I mentioned I love REI?  If you’ve never shopped there, you are definitely missing out.  I’ve actually worked at 3 of REI stores myself, in Minnesota, Washington and Nevada, and they do an excellent job of hiring amazing outdoor enthusiasts who are knowledgeable, friendly and cool.  If you’re thinking of trying out a new sport or some gear, check REI out, you won’t be disappointed.

So back to my Go-Pro.  I’ve been thinking about getting one of these ever since I did Tough Mudder back in 2011.  My TM team was pretty big, more like an army really with over 20 people, and there were two or three of my teammates who had go-pro cameras during the race.  The videos they captured were amazing, and as someone that likes to try all kinds of crazy sports and activities, I figured I could have a lot of fun with a go-pro.

I also decided to invest in a couple of different mounts, the head strap and chest harness (rather dubiously called the “chesty”).  Now to go and shoot so videos and pics…

I was planning to start with some running videos.  That was until I actually shot some running videos.  Running does not appear to be an ideal candidate for shooting good Go-Pro videos, at least not with the “Chesty” mount anyway.  My videos turned out like scenes from the Blair Witch Project.  Here’s an example:

So maybe next time I’ll try biking instead…

I had to limit myself to just the two new mounts initially because it was very tempting to get more.  They have all kinds of cool mounts you can get, even one that attaches to a special pole that allows you to have the camera out in front of you for selfies, etc.  Not sure I actually want to take any videos of myself just yet, so for now I just can’t wait to get out there and play.

Do you have any go-pro tips or tricks to share with me?  If so, please post a comment!  🙂

Leave a Reply

