Weakened Warriors: Installment 2

This week marked practice number two and it definitely went better than last week.  My arm is starting to get a little stronger (meaning now I can throw more like a 13 year old girl), so just a few more weeks and I might actually be able to return some balls without completely embarrassing myself and my team.

Things would have gone even better if it hadn’t been “evil pt workout Friday”.

I’ve been working with a personal trainer twice a week for the past few months, but because of my trip to Napa and craziness at work for the past few weeks, I’ve been taking a bit of a hiatus.  This was immediately apparent when we started what I have now come to believe is the most evil leg/glute circuit imaginable.

This combination of exercises was so evil that I can barely walk today, and I am seriously dreading tomorrow because I know it’s only going to get worse from here.  I thought maybe if I did a lot of walking it would help loosen me up again, but no luck.

It all started with a bizarre move where you balance on your stomach on a balance ball and roll forward so your face is close to the ground, legs straight up in the air and you do flutter kicks.  This is apparently very effective for targeting the glutes.  A little too effective if you ask me.

Next we moved on to Donkey Kicks.  But not just any Donkey Kicks…These Donkey Kicks:

Then we did Lateral Skater Jumps:

Then Kettlebell Jump Squats:

And finally:

All of those combined into one heck of a workout for my Gluteus Maximus.  Needless to say it was a brutal workout and even later that day I thought my legs were going to give out on me.

So that was about the only thing that kept practice from being totally awesome.  We had a blast as a team and even convinced another one of our co-workers who has never played before to join the team.

This week we started getting the feel for where we fit best on the field, and it seems like I am at my best in the outfield. Coach Doug tried to put me at Second initially, but the whole now you cover first, now you throw to the Short Stop because he’s covering Second, now you’re Second again, thing was just a little more complicated than I want to deal with.

Next I tried out Right field.  Here I ended up a little bored, and because it was an unusually cold evening, I had to run laps to stay warm.  So next they put me in Left Center next to Elke who was playing Left field.

Elke is another one of the good players on our team (probably owing to a combination of actual talent, and the fact that she’s also played recently.

Left field worked a lot better for me.  I liked the increase in action, and even my throwing arm was warming up to the point where I could almost make a decent throw to the Short Stop.

The only tiny hiccough was the fact that apparently Elke and I can’t play in the outfield together because we’re both too nice and end up thinking the other person is going to get it.  Made for some pretty hilarious moments.

 

Please post your comments!

Leave a Reply

