When a healthy obsession turns harmful…

So a while back I mentioned how I’m in love with my fitbit and that it has turned into something of an obsession for me.  Well, you probably won’t be too surprised to hear that my obsession has turned into a full-blown addiction, and it might even be an unhealthy one.

I know what you’re thinking, how can something that encourages you to go out and be healthy, become unhealthy?  Well, it’s pretty simple really.  Whereas before I got my fitbit I used to thing walking 5+ miles a day was a good thing; I now am only satisfied if I get more than 17k steps per day.

And I’m only actually happy with my performance if I manage to get more than 20K steps per day.

This has started to become a problem because in my quest to get those 20K steps per day, especially on days that I’m working, I often end up squeezing in steps on all of my work breaks.  And because I work in an office and typically wear heels every day, I tend to spend way too many miles walking around in high heels.

It really doesn’t help that my boss and co-workers have been just as infected with fitbit obsession as I have, and they are more than willing to take over my place at the top of the leader board if I relax my walking and running for even just a single day.

Considering all that, it’s really no wonder that I’m having all kinds of issues with my feet.  It started with tendinitis in my right ankle, and has now progressed to an excruciating pain in my left Metatarsal.  Not only has this horribly side-tracked my running, I can barely even walk at this point and find myself in almost constant pain.

So I have two choices at this point.  Rest, and get depressed as I watch my fitbit 7 day steps plummet; or keep walking on it until I’m left with an even more serious injury.

Needless to say, I’m not very happy with either of these options.  But it also happens to be spring break this week, and I’ll be spending the latter half of the week in Napa with friends and I’m unlikely to do much walking or running anyway.  So I guess this is as good a week as any to take a little break, and hopefully I can drown my inevitable sorrows in some amazing wine and fun with friends.

Please leave me a comment if you have a favorite vineyard I should visit in the Napa/Sonoma area.  🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

