Skiing: great for your legs, but not your fitbit step goal

If you’ve never skied in Tahoe, here’s a great reason why you should:

Image

Photo Source

I started downhill skiing when I was about 4 years old, and I had gotten pretty good by the time I was in High School, which was the first time my parents decided to take us to Reno/Tahoe to go skiing.  Now when I say I was pretty good, I mean that I was pretty good by Minnesota standards.  In MN, the skiing is a wee bit different than Tahoe for several reasons.  The two biggest of which are:

  • First: the runs in MN are considered long if it takes you about 60 seconds of hard skiing to get from top to bottom.
  • Second: the “snow” is really just sheets of ice disguised as snow.

The good thing about the second part is that if you can ski on ice, you can ski on pretty much anything.  The bad thing about that first thing was that the first day I skied in Tahoe; I thought my legs were seriously going to fall off from working so hard.

In Minnesota, we don’t have any mountains, that place is flatter than the average pancake, so the only good places to go skiing are in river valleys.  Needless to say, that makes for some very short runs.  So I was completely overwhelmed by how long it would take to get from the top to the bottom of the average run in Tahoe.  At one point, I even decided to time myself, and I remember making it to 10 minutes of straight skiing about as hard as I could to make it from the top of the Crystal Express Quad at Diamond Peak back to the lodge at the bottom.

Needless to say, my legs were not in shape for that kind of extreme workout.

Now fast forward about 18 years to today, and again I found myself skiing in Tahoe.  This time of course, I live here, and I was at Mount Rose.  The exciting part about today is that my legs actually held up pretty well for me.  This was only my second time skiing this year, but the miles and miles I’ve been putting in walking and running as of late have really made a huge difference in my strength and endurance.

The only downside of my skiing experience today?  Well, apparently you don’t register too many steps by skiing, so I am finishing my day off with a measly 9,000 steps on my fitbit.  Oh well, that is a small price to pay for a day of fantastic weather, fresh air, and getting in my cross training workout while hanging out with friends.

Especially if you’ve never been before, come visit and Ski Tahoe.  The spectacular views and glorious weather are unparalleled.

Leave a Reply

